top of page

2021 Awards 

Award winners are selected by the Hawai'i Film Critics Society.

Best Feature Film

For feature length narrative or documentary films.

Tokyo Hula

directed by Lisette Marie Flanary


- Swarm Season, directed by Sarah J Christman

- Waikiki P.D., directed by Jeff Orig

Tokyo Hula 1.jpg

Best Cinematography

For narrative or documentary films of any length.

Swarm Season

 directed by Sarah J Christman

cinematography by Zara Popovici


- 'AILA'AU: Forest Eater directed by Lance Page

- Sequela, directed by Nathaniel Lee Tracy

Best Short Film

Narrative or documentary short or episodic content.

The Pit Where We Were Born

directed by Alexander Bocchieri


- Kama'aina, directed by Kimi Howl Lee

- Molokaʻi Bound, directed by Alika Maikau

'Ike Loa Award

Presented to a filmmaker exploring Native Hawaiian stories and identity and demonstrating excellent artistry, growth and expansion.


 directed by Mitchel Viernes


- Down on the Sidewalk in Waikīkī, directed by Justyn Ah Chong

-- This is the Way We Rise, directed by Ciara Lacy

Best Music Video

Best musical content with a focus on innovation + experimentation. 

You Were Once Wild 

directed by Dom Walczuk


bottom of page